3rd May 2018

England cricket team reach ODI summit

By odds24

England cricket has risen to the top of the world one-day rankings for the first time in more than five years.

Eoin Morgan’s team were confirmed as the number one in the 50-over side format, overtaking India at the summit, following the latest annual update.

With the rankings officially updated on May 1 each year, England leapfrogged India to sit in top spot for the first time since 2012 when the team spent five months at No.1.

England cricket team reach the ODI summitEngland were previously third behind India and South Africa but surged into first after the results of a forgettable 2014/15 season, which saw them winning only seven out of 25 ODI’s against other full member countries, were ditched.

Results from the 2015/16 and 2016/17 seasons are now weighted at 50 per cent, and England’s recent performances – such as the 4-1 hammering of Australia in January – have been strong.

England, who last topped the ODI rankings in January 2013, are now on 125 ranking points, three points ahead of Virat Kohli’s India.

South Africa are nine further back in third with New Zealand fourth on 112.

Further down the standings, world champions Australia have lost eight points to drop to 104 and fifth position, two points ahead of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 winners Pakistan.

The one significant change in the Twenty20 international rankings has seen Afghanistan rise to seventh, ahead of 2014 world champions Sri Lanka.

Pakistan remain top of the pile in international cricket’s shortest format.

2019 Cricket World Cup Odds

England are 3/1 to win the World Cup, while India can be backed at 9/2, Pakistan at 10/1 and Australia at 10/3.

View all Cricket ODI betting with William Hill

ODI team rankings 

1. England – 125 points (+8 points)

2. India – 122 (-1)

3. South Africa – 113 (-4)

4. New Zealand – 112 (-2)

5. Australia – 104 (-8)

6. Pakistan – 102 (+6)

7. Bangladesh – 93 (+3)

8. Sri Lanka – 77 (-7)

9. West Indies – 69 (-5)

10. Afghanistan – 63 (+5)

11. Zimbabwe – 55 (+4)

12. Ireland – 38 (-3)

The ICC Cricket World Cup is an international cricket competition. It is played in the One Day International (ODI) cricket format. The event is organised by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC). Cricket World Cup is the third largest sporting event in the world, behind soccer’s World Cup and the Summer Olympic Games. The first Cricket World Cup contest was organised in England in 1975. A separate Women’s Cricket World Cup has been held every four years since 1973.

We’ve put together an easy to understand cricket guide to help you understand the options better